One Thousand And One Nights


Dispersed in the desert, within my remains,
An old existence and its beginnings,
In the distance, my home,
My village, remote and silent,
In my disappearance, in my absence
Seek this knowledge, let it seek you,
Become a light, let this light be you
Exist I in this imagination and fragrance
Become the flower, as thorns will come
In its days and nights, be prepared,
Here I am dispersed, within my remains
My six year old sky, in a violent turmoil
Remain you will there, until it finds you
The metaphors, like the drunkard’s to the glass
Like the intoxication to the mind in time
Remain in there, you will till it finds you
Those oceans in blue and green, beyond this place
This desert is your home, let the desert become you
Master your soul, let your soul become you,
In silence you will remain for years to come,
In silence, you will witness the trails of time
In silence, you will learn, let it prevails upon you
Dance you will, in your boredom and hunger
let this dance become you, in balance and poise
Freedom not easy to understand, let it become you
Here I am in this desert, the desert in me
My village remote and silent, in my disappearance

Resume I my journey, as this journey becomes me
Learn I these words, until the words become me
As I lie there in white sheets, with fever
As I begin to wonder, as the wonder becomes me.
As nights begin to eat, my silence and my remains
As fear begins to embolden, as it becomes me
As those writings on the wall, loose it s meaning
As those gestures, human, disappear like winds
Remain you will in your sickness, remain you will
In this state, until it becomes you, let it prosper
My only companion, my only friends, an old book
One thousand and one nights, the old gift
Covered in thousand mist, covered in rainbows
The old gift, in the desert and in its winds
As I become a butterfly, as the butterfly become me

As I lay there, in my fever, with no words of comprehension
As I lay there, in my bed, with no logic and wisdom
As I see this existence to disintegrate in my dreams
As I hear voices in my head, as the voices become me
An old wish, never to surrender, until it becomes you
Recite this to me, the old stories of an Old Persian king,
Recite this to me, the old story of queen and her stories,
Embroidered in magic, clad in lamps, in its appearance
And of those oceans, the distant oceans I will travel
As the stories of deceit become me, as I become those characters
In me, the old towns and streets, of strange names and colors
Recite this my friend, as this butterfly remain with me
As the mind become words, and the words a mind
As the hands become swords, and swords a forlorn figure
As I leave unnoticed in those pages, as disappearance becomes me
Remain in there, the old paintings, and animals in view
As they become my friends, as I become theirs

Travel I with these stories, to places unknown
Travel I to these places, in moments unknown
To return back to the desert, for comfort and love
Hear you will us not, they say, hear you don’t,
Poison this is , for your mind and your state,
Entrapped you are in your world, as we begin
As I begin to see, this reality, and this world
Talk you to me these places, travelled I have already
These pages have wings, these stories have fuel
I sleep well; I sleep fine, in those thousand and one
Nights, and nights long and peaceful, as I sleep
As it becomes me, as I become them,
The old sailors, the old valor and vessels of legend,
As they bring me the warmth, of their distant days
Upon their entrance, those kings, as I become them
As I in shadows, witness, the acts of love and laughter
As I remain hidden, in my world and theirs
Remain there the old light, the old lamp
As they become my world, as I become theirs
Not a pact, not a deal just an old understanding
And this old butterfly with me, with names
Different, names distant, the old gift
Arrives she with legends and stories in my dreams
Never will I lose sight, never will it lose sight
As silence dawns, as I sleep with wonder and magic
As the old lamp guards me, from the nights of desert
Enough light in there, for me to become what I am
As those jinns and creatures, my characters, my friends
Depart they never, the story never ends,
As death not the end, only the end is of moments
When stories are born, when characters are drawn
Sharper than those swords, in their demise and elation

Become I those thousand and one nights in my remains
Become I like that king, become I like that queen,
Become I her story, become she mine, my story
The old tales, the old magic, the old splendor
The hidden towns, castles and rivers of wine
As those travels become mine, as I theirs
Still in me the old desert, as this butterfly with me
In thousand and one nights, in my life and words
Turn into sailors and their masks and swords
Hear I them from a distant and inside me,
You are us and we you, remember the old pact
As they old fishermen and their tales
Cast and its spell, as I am bounded by its glory
Of me and my remains, inside, frozen forever

Dispersed in the desert, within my remains,
An old existence and its beginnings,
In the distance, my home,
My village, remote and silent,
In my disappearance, in my absence
Seek this knowledge, let it seek you,
Become a light, let this light be you
Exist I in this imagination and fragrance
Become the flower, as thorns will come
In its days and nights, be prepared,
Here I am dispersed, within my remains
My six year old sky, in a violent turmoil
Remain you will there, until it finds you
The metaphors, like the drunkard’s to the glass
Like the intoxication to the mind in time
Remain in there, you will till it finds you
Those oceans in blue and green, beyond this place
This desert is your home, let the desert become you
Master your soul, let your soul become you,
In silence you will remain for years to come,
In silence, you will witness the trails of time
In silence, you will learn, let it prevails upon you
Dance you will, in your boredom and hunger
Let this dance become you, in balance and poise
Freedom not easy to understand let it become you
Here I am in this desert, the desert in me
My village remote and silent, in my disappearance!

Kashkin

6 thoughts on “One Thousand And One Nights

  1. Thanks Aadil, Nadia and Nadeen.

    Nadeen I mentioned this poem before some time ago but never wrote it. So you havent read this poem before and it is not on your pages.

Leave a Reply

