The Day I Became Free


pakistan_by_khawarbilal

The day I became free
From sacrifices of the past
Of my own and millions
To wear this smile
In green and white
In glistening youth and its warmth
It’s the day I became free

The day I became free
From all those shackles of the past
The differences that had remained
Ingrained in our memory
From years of isolation and crime
As I breathe in a place I call home
It’s the day I became free

The day I became free
From moments of disruption and demise
From the hands of reflection and its creed
From the beasts of the greed and control
As I walked with my toes in its place
From the rivers of the north to the oceans of south
It’s the day I became free

The day I became free
Amidst death and rape, amidst fear and promise
Amidst hope and destruction, amidst loss and repair
On Friday 14th, as I ran towards eternity
As I left behind the dead without burial,
As I left behind my possession without its masters
As I left behind all that was empty and unforgiving
It’s the day I became free

The day I became free
From the torture of the mind and heart
To the steppes of the peace and its music
To the moments of silence and its rapture
Of all that was mine, in between the heavens and earth
To the land of my dreams, to the land of my salvation
It’s the day I became free and immortal!

Kashkin

Leave a Reply

