Baba, Mujhko Dar Lugta Hai!


I received this poem in one of the Email FWD.It is in Urdu titled ” Baba, Mujhko Dar Lugta Hai”…Its a beautiful poem- a poem to reflect how children see the situation around them and how these children willing to trade in their presents to avoid this danger.

I wanted to keep the originality of the poem in translation. So its a very simple translation. I did add two lines in the end. Once you have read the Urdu version, you will know where I made the addition in its English version.

Baba Mujhko Darr lagta hai

Baba,
My teacher informs me
All children to remain
At home, and study there!

Baba
I have heard
A monster of a man
With black moustache
Will explode the bomb here
All children will die!!

Baba,
Why are they going to kill us?
What is our mistake?
Why angry they are with us?

Baba,
Shall I give him my doll?
Or all my rainbow colours from the blue box
The one I received from you, the present
On my last birthday

Or my hair band, the beautiful one
Imbued in red, with butterflies
Shall I give him that one as well!
Will that be enough for this man?
Not to kill us

Remember Baba, my hands,
The old injury, once
The excruciating pain
As little blood flowed through
Torrents of rain in my eyes

What is this bomb like?
Will the damage be huge?
Will it hurt more?
I guess the pain will be more
Baba, will I be there to cry for
My own pain or will you?
Baba, fearful I am of this monster!

Kashkin

4 thoughts on “Baba, Mujhko Dar Lugta Hai!

Leave a Reply

